• darkblurbg
    Canadian Political Science Association
    2018 Annual Conference Programme

    Politics in Uncertain Times
    Hosted at the University of Regina, Regina, Saskatchewan
    Wednesday, May 30 to Friday, June 1, 2018
  • darkblurbg
    Presidential Address
    - The Charter’s Influence on Legislation -
    - Political Strategizing about Risk -

    Wednesday, May 30, 2018 | 05:00pm to 06:00pm
  • darkblurbg
    Departmental Reception
    Department of Politics and
    International Studies

    Sponsor(s): University of Regina Faculty of Arts |
    University of Regina Provost's Office

    May 30, 2018 | 06:00pm to 07:59pm


The 2018 Programme Committee recognizes the contributions of the following to our programme: 

University of Regina’s Department of Politics and International Studies for sponsoring and hosting the departmental reception, and the University of Regina Faculty of Arts and University of Regina Provost's Office for their sponsorship of this reception;

The Congress' International Keynote Speaker Support Fund and the Aid to Interdisciplinary Sessions Fund;

Abacus Data, MITACS, and University of Toronto Press for their sponsorship of the Graduate Student Three Minute Thesis Competition;

The Federation for the Humanities and Social Sciences (FHSS) and the Canadian Association for Social Work Education (CASWE) for their sponsorship of and collaboration on the workshop on The Role of Scholarly Associations in Advancing Reconciliation – What Can Be Done?;

Women's and Gender Studies et Recherches Féministes (WGSRF) for its collaboration in presenting the plenary keynote, by Robyn Maynard, From Woke to Free: Policing Black Lives, Abolition and Black Feminist Futures, as well as the Centre for the Study of Democracy and Diversity (CSDD) and the Department of Political Studies, Queen’s University for the sponsorship of this keynote;

The Queen’s Institute of Intergovernmental Relations (IIGR) and the Canadian Opinion Research Archive (CORA) for the sponsorship of the plenary keynote, by Sarah Childs, The Good Parliament: Reflections on Being a Feminist Change Actor at Westminster;

Association of Municipal Managers, Clerks and Treasurers of Ontario (AMCTO) for its sponsorship of the roundtable on David Siegel’s Contribution to the Study of Local Government and Public Administration;

UBC Press for its sponsorship of the roundtable Author Meets Audience - Richard Johnston and The Canadian Party System: An Analytic History;

Emily Regan Wills (University of Ottawa) for organizing the CPSA Women’s Caucus activities;

Dave Snow (University of Guelph) for organizing the CPSA Poster Session;

Frédéric Bastien (Université de Montréal), Maureen Hiebert (University of Calgary), and Tamara Small (University of Guelph) for serving as judges of the CPSA Poster Session;

J.P. Lewis (UNB) and Erin Crandall (Acadia University) for organizing the CPSA Three Minute Thesis Competition;

Tina Beaudry-Mellor (Sask Party MLA for Regina University, Minister of Advanced Education, Minister responsible for Innovation Saskatchewan, Minister responsible for Status of Women Office); Adam Hunter (CBC Saskatchewan Journalist); Nicole Sarauer (NDP MLA for Regina Douglas Park); Stéphanie Chouinard (Royal Military College), Alexandra Manoliu (Université de Montréal); Jerald Sabin (Western University); and Allison Smith (University of Toronto Mississauga) for serving as judges of the Three Minute Thesis Competition;
Nora Abdelrahman Ibrahim (Queen’s University) for assistance with the organization of the IR-ISA Canada section;

We also would like to thank Silvina Danesi, CPSA Executive Director; Michelle Hopkins, CPSA Administrator; Sean Hart, IT/Web Consultant and Jim Farney, local arrangements coordinator, for enabling and supporting our work. Their guidance, assistance and expertise behind the scenes ensure that our meetings are successful.